Past Presidents

We are trying to create this new section to pay tribute to the OSOMS "Founders"--Identifying past presidents.

Dr. Jerry Becker is retiring after 50 years of practice, including serving the profession from 1975-77 as OSOMS President.

We encourage past presidents and those of you with knowledge of them to share their names and years of service with us. Contact us ( so we can fill this section with our champions.


Salute to Retiring OSOMS Member | Past President (1975-1977)

Dr. Jerry Becker, DDS, MS.                     

I served as president of OSOMS from 1975-77. At that time, dental extractions and impacted third molars were covered under OHIP benefits. Needless to say, there was pressure from patients and dentists to have these procedures performed in the hospital where OR times were limited and where the OHIP fee schedule was somewhat modest compared with the oral surgery fee schedule.   I therefore negotiated with the Ontario Dental Association to have these procedures, on healthy patients, delisted from the OHIP benefits schedule. This removed the pressure on oral surgeons to do these procedures on healthy patients in a hospital setting, ultimately setting the scene for extractions and impacted teeth to be done within the efficient and safe confines of our own surgical clinics and at a more realistic fee schedule. In effect we became masters in our own house. Thank you for the OSOMS’ Salute on news of my retirement.  When past OSOMS presidents retire from practice, they should be recognized at an OSOMS dinner meeting for their contributions to the speciality. I can think of two former OSOMS presidents who would qualify; Namely Dr. Howard Philips and Dr. Paul Chapnick.  

Respectfully,  Jerry Becker DDS, MS.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software